Find the WOW in the now….

By: openheartproduction

Sep 21 2012

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/603 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

 

“Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. Let me hold you as I may, for it not always be so. One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return.”– Mary Jean Iron

I was walking down Jefferson Street to meet my son Kurt and his friend Louie for lunch on Wednesday… drinking in the cooler breezes of an early fall afternoon..when I looked up and saw this billboard smiling down at me. What a great message for me that day..and for all of us…every day.

I too can sometimes get caught up in my own “mind mire” worrying about something that might happen or not, or the what ifs, or why me, or that general “freakout” mode and totally miss out on something delicious that is staring me right in the face. We are all human…but the more we stay connected and plug into the present moment…what is happening right now…life is far more yummy. I’m a big fan of everyday messy, delightful moments. When things don’t go my way…or the way I thought they did…when I ride it out and just say…this could be good or even better then my plan…it’s usually true. Or I sometimes just surrender to the moment and free fall into it.

I try to stay present and fully engaged in my time with my kids, friends, and life in general. There are gentle little reminders as I go through my day to stop, look, listen and drink it in. It is amazing what I find and see!

So today when you are having lunch with a friend, or walking to the train, fixing dinner…take a moment to just be in it…listen to the sweet sounds of your kids giggle or their eyes that tell you…Mom/Dad I need you but don’t know how to ask, as you pass people on the street…look at them, not past them…smile and they will smile back at you, cherish the moments and the opportunity to stay connected and present in your day.

Have a great weekend. Peace out for now!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

