Time stood still for a few hours and we were all 17 again…..

 

“Time is free, but it is priceless. You can’t own it, but you can use it. You can’t keep it, but you can spend it. Once you’ve lost it you can never get it back.”– Harvey MacKay

 This past weekend I went to celebrate my 40th class reunion…the Assumption High School class of 1972.     It was amazing to try and put my arms around where the heck 40 years went?!! I remember as I watched my Mom get ready to attend her 40th reunion…as a curious and “lippy” adolescent I said…geshhhh Mom..40 years…that’s a really long time ago…are any of your classmates still alive?…as she proceeded to smack me…lol Sorry Mom 🙂

It was great fun to mingle with all the “cliques” that only those high school years can produce…the Athletes, the Band geeks, the Cheerleaders, the Brains, the Stoners, the Theater people, the Bad Asses or as I like to refer to them as the “forbidden fruit”. Beautifully after 40 years those boundries disappear and we all simply come together to laugh, share and catch up. Confidence has replaced those unsure days of feeling invisible. Wisdom has replaced cockiness. Compassion has replaced competition. Similarities replace differences. We simply came to celebrate where we have come from to where we are now.

As we remembered those classmates that left this earth far to soon…we stop and give thanks for having had them in our lives. Our kids are now parents making many of us grandparents…some are now parenting their parents…some are battling health issues. Life brings us the bad along with the good.

I give great thanks for the opportunity to drink in the sweetness of still feeling 17 but with all the wisdom of 57. Here’s to my classmates…We’re the BEST we’re better then you…we’re the class of 72!!!! Those were good times indeed.

4 comments on “Time stood still for a few hours and we were all 17 again…..”

  1. Only wish I could have been there….you all look GREAT!!

  2. Thanks, Kathy, for a well written blog entry that I’m sure captures everyone’s sentiments. It was good to see everyone again. I’m looking forward already to a 45th or 50th!


Leave a Reply

