Happy Birthday Mom……

“Love knows no limit to its endurance, no end to its trust, no fading of its hope: it can outlast anything. Love still stands when all else has fallen.”– Unknown

Today is Vera’s birthday. She has been gone for 22 years now and I miss her daily. Her smile, laugh, her book next to her cup of coffee at the kitchen table. There are many days I wished for one more time at that table to ask…How did you do it with 7 kids? I am overwhelmed and I just have 2. What was I like a a little kid? Did I make you proud? What is the secret to a happy solid marriage? What was the biggest fear you and Dad had for us kids?

I certainly am the woman I am today because of my Mom. I have her nose, her smile, her laugh that sounds more like a full on cackle and even her voice. I wanted to be just like her….nurse, wife, and always a mother. I learned the importance of love and discipline as a parent. Deal with the problem and not threaten…with the “wait til your Dad gets home”…she just took care of it right then. She had a deep faith and walked it. I watched my mom love my dad like crazy and he of her.

So today and everyday I give thanks for Vera and hope I have made her proud. Give Dad a hug from me. I love you both.

2 comments on “Happy Birthday Mom……”

  1. Beautiful. Happy Birthday to Vera!!


Leave a Reply

