Who has been your bridge over troubled waters?…..

By: openheartproduction

Feb 23 2012

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Focal Length:18mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:Canon EOS REBEL T2i

 

 

 

Leading with Vision: The Bridge Builder

An old man, going a lone highway,

 

Came, at the evening, cold and gray,

 

To a chasm, vast, and deep, and wide,

 

Through which was flowing a sullen tide.

 

 

The old man crossed in the twilight dim;

 

The sullen stream had no fear for him;

 

But he turned, when safe on the other side,

 

And built a bridge to span the tide.

 

 

“Old man,” said a fellow pilgrim, near,

 

“You are wasting strength with building here;

 

Your journey will end with the ending day;

 

You never again will pass this way;

 

You’ve crossed the chasm, deep and wide-

 

Why build you this bridge at the evening tide?”

 

The builder lifted his old gray head:

 

“Good friend, in the path I have come,” he said,

 

“There followeth after me today,

 

A youth, whose feet must pass this way.

 

This chasm, that has been naught to me,

 

To that fair-haired youth may a pitfall be.

 

He, too, must cross in the twilight dim;

 

Good friend, I am building this bridge for him.”

 

Will Allen Dromgoole

I was chatting with a friend a few nights ago about all the twists and turns our lives are going though at this time. No matter the age or stage, there are always a boat load of “adventures” that take us to places and experiences we never thought we’d be in. All exciting but some make us just want to say, “REALLY….are you kidding me…where the hell did this come from?” as we laugh.  As we continued to process with one another the word bridge came up. I just need a bridge to get me from here….to there…from stormy waters to calm.

I thought about the word bridge and pondered about those people that have been my “bridge” through the years. When I was lost or scared to “cross” the bridge to the unknown, they were there to guide me and hold my hand until I was ready to make the  journey. Who was there…on the other side of the “bridge” but my team of cheering friends saying…yahooo you made it!!!! A bridge can also be “lifted” to help us go through to safety with out crashing.

The poem speaks of building a bridge for those that will one day make their own journey into the stormy waters of life…it is our job to build a strong bridge as our legacy to our kids and to the world. I want to show my kids the “plans” to building a safe structure…good friends that have their backs and will hold them accountable. Give back to those less fortunate then themselves, live a life of gratitude, joy, and passion.

Chicago is a city full of bridges, from now on  when I walk over one… I will think of those people in my live that have carried me to safe waters. THANKS.

 

Leave a Reply

