I rejoice in who you are…just the way you are!

By: openheartproduction

Jan 18 2012

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Focal Length:20mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS REBEL T2i

“The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not twist them to fit our image. Otherwise we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them.”–Thomas Merton

Awwww…a face only a mother could love! Every mother thinks their child is beautiful…as they should because they are. We have a vision for our kids, but before long…they create their vision for their own lives. That is called growing up.

There have been times in the process of raising my kids that our visions clashed big time. Right/ Wrong,Following the crowd/ or being your own person, hanging on/ letting go, living in denial/ being gut honest, feeling alone/ having faith…and all the daily living and learning life lessons in the ordinary.

I tried to let my kids be and grow into who THEY are supposed to be…not who I think they should be….and love every step along the journey. I will be honest here, there were days I didn’t like them too much but I always loved them.

Growing pains are hard as hell and incredibly exciting at the same time….go figure. No matter the age or stage.. growing and changing is a juicy part of life. I remember my mother saying to us…Don’t wish your life away. I get what she was trying to tell us. Every moment is special…savour them.

Today I celebrate Kurt and Deena for growing me as a mother, woman and human being. They loved me just the way I was and I am, and I hope they feel the same way. I love you to the moon and back.

 

 

Leave a Reply

