Oh…My…God…….

By: openheartproduction

Jan 09 2012

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:30mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:Canon EOS REBEL T2i

“You think this is just another day in your life? It’s not just another day. It’s the one day that is given to you: today. It’s GIVEN to you. It is a GIFT. It’s the only gift we have right now. And the only appropriate response is gratefulness.”– Brother David-Steindl-Rast

I participated in a mini-retreat Sunday afternoon at Old St. Pat’s. The topic was gratitude and I was looking forward for the opportunity to slow down, settle in and see what happens.

I have been feeling a stirring in my soul that is ever present. I’m feeling pulled and have learned to pay attention to that still small voice. What is it? What am I to be about at this time in my life? What is it to look like?

With my hunger for answers, the gift of Terry Nelson-Johnson who is such a fireball of love, joy, energy and beautifully transparent, leading the retreat, soulful music and this incredible Ted Talk…I could feel my heart open up. My emotions flowed along with my tears. I was so moved. I felt joy, a sense of urgency, and almost breathless over how blessed I am.

Some of you may have watched this before but the beauty of the flowers, nature, sky, and the beautiful faces of the people….wow…but I was blown away by the words spoken passionately by the little girl and the old gentleman. All that wisdom from a sweet tow-headed blonde girl and sage  advice from an elder. We have so much to learn from one another. To celebrate our differences and find the common ground that brings us all together as humans… for that which we are “gifted” daily.

Take some time today to just savour and linger a little bit longer… to admire the sky, the wind on your face, the sound of laughter, the warmth of a hug, the deliciousness of a piece of Dove chocolate, the smell of the roast in the crockpot, and all those little things in life that we take for granted some days. Time to start an “Occupy Gratitude” movement! Stay present…We don’t want to miss a moment of this incredible blessed life.

Leave a Reply

