He walked his walk…..

By: openheartproduction

Jan 03 2012

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Focal Length:42mm
ISO:3200
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS REBEL T2i

“Material possessions, winning scores,and great reputations are meaningless in the eyes of the Lord, because He knows what we really are and that is all that matters. “– John Wooten

I was truly blessed to have an incredible living example of the prayer to St Francis in my father. It was his favorite. Not only as a father, but in a husband, uncle, grandfather, teacher, coach, friend, and neighbor did he model the words of this prayer.

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.

He was a father of 7 kids at home,then went daily to teach and coach thousands of kids through his 25 year career.If that does not require PEACE I don’t know what does!

Where there was  hatred, let them sow love.

Dad was a follower of Martin Luther King and John Kennedy. I remember him repeating..”Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country. One of his golden nuggets of wisdom was..”Kill em with your kindness” if will keep them off guard.

Where there is injury, pardon.

My dad was a POW in WWll. He was captured by the Germans, where he was sent to work at a prison farm. He never talked much about the experience but we found out once the war was over and he was freed, he returned to give the farmer the stolen german truck to use. A thank you for his kindness.

Where there is doubt, faith.

Many a student returned to share their troubles and concerns with my dad. He always took  time with them to reassure them that they were on the right track and to keep the faith.

Where there is despair, hope.

Through the death of his father at a young age, a serious injury to his leg, being imprisoned and all the ups and downs of life…he never gave up hope and taught us to always look for the good instead of the bad.

Where there is darkness, light.

Being a parent, I can only imagine both He and my mother lying awake nights waiting to hear us arrive home safe. Lord and if we were past curfew…the kitchen “light” came on and we were in deep “darkness” lol

Where there is sadness, joy.

I remember every Saturday evening after a bath and shampoo, I’d come into the living room and Dad would always say….”Who is the movie star”! I would beam with joy. A few of my pet names through the years were…ZaZa Gabor, Doris Day and (Lord only knows where he came up with this one) Donna DeVarona! It still makes me laugh as I’m typing this.

He always made me feel safe…I loved walking to church with dad be my side. Before we crossed Locust street, He’d hold out his index finger and I held it as we walked. I knew all was right in my world.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;

to be understood as to understand;

to be loved as to love.

For it is in giving that we receive;

it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;

and it is in dying we are born to eternal life.

Thank you for letting me share this incredible man with you today. I too hope and pray to be a living example of this prayer and of my Dad.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

