Who and what shaped you?….

By: openheartproduction

Jan 02 2012

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/276 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

“When you remember me, it means that you have carried something of who I am with you, that I have some mark of you I am on you. It means you can summon me back to your mind even though countless years and miles my stand before us. It means if we meet again, you will know me. It means that even after I die, you can still see my face and hear my voice and speak to me in your heart.

For as long as you remember me, I am never actually lost. When I’m most  ghost-like, it is your remembering me that helps remind me that I actually exist. When I’m feeling sad, it’s my consolation. When I’m feeling happy, it’s part of why I feel this way.

If you forget me, one of the ways I remember you who I am will be gone. If you forget, part of who I am will be gone. “Jesus, remember me when I come into your Kingdom” the good thief said from the cross (Luke 23:42) There are perhaps no more human words spoken in all of scripture, no prayer we can pray so well”– Fredrick Buechner

The other day I was walking around my neighborhood enjoying a bright sunny December day. I came upon one of the many new eating establishments..this one caught my eye and made me smile. Vera was my mother’s name. Not a name you hear very often these days.

I let myself think of my mother while I finished my walk. She had 7 kids and I’m landed smack tab in the middle of Team Ambrose. I have been told I really not only look like her but sound like her right down to my laugh. I remember coming home for a visit..answering the phone and I’d get an earful as everyone thought they were talking to Vera. When I said…hold one..this is Kathy, “Oh my you sound just like your Mother!” Vera ruled the domain at 1721…she was the “General” She was only about 5 ft tall but when she yelled…we MOVED! We could never get away with anything. We may have thought we did…but I think deep down she knew. She was strong with a gentle heart. The older I get the more grateful I am to have been a kid of Vera and Ray Ambrose. I know many people that are still effed up and complaining about the way they were raised. Lord..time to let it go…forgive and move on!

Today I remember who I came from and celebrate Vera! Thanks for making me the woman I am today. I hope I am being the kind of mom she was…because there wasn’t any better then the big “V”!

 

 

Leave a Reply

