Peace on Earth, Good will to ALL….

By: openheartproduction

Dec 19 2011

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

Focal Length:25mm
ISO:2000
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS REBEL T2i

One person…one idea can make the world a better place. We don’t need to have lots of letters after our name, a boat-load of money, a cleared calendar to make a difference in the world or to another person.

I photographed the Dream for Kids Holiday for Hope Christmas party this past Saturday. It was an afternoon for kids and  families in need to come and enjoy a meal, entertainment, and a visit from Santa! It was such a blessing to me to spend an afternoon seeing Christmas through the eyes of a room full of kids. The kids  loved seeing their faces in the camera. I even had a couple that wanted to take a picture of me. I told them I saw a job as a photographer in their  future.

I was chatting with a beautiful young girl and asked her what her favorite subject was in school. She answered me with a resounding I LOVE TO SING! Wow I said…I’d love to hear you sing..without a moment of hesitation she sang a beautiful Christmas carol for me. Her voice was strong and pure. She then took my hand and asked me if she could sing on stage…well that’s all it took to get the ball rolling. A dream came true for Ms JRB  that afternoon as she held the microphone, took a deep breath and sang from her soul to a room full of people. It warmed my heart as I cheered like a crazy person for her. A star was born that afternoon.

We must never underestimate the power of a simple question asked, listening, caring, engaging, encouraging words and a genuine smile. The world is hungry for us all to stay connected for a common good. We all are more alike then we are different. Every parent wants the best for their kids no matter what walk of life, language we speak or the culture we came from.

One comment on “Peace on Earth, Good will to ALL….”

  1. Thanks for the story of the singer. The joy of Christmas needs to be shared in picture and song!


Leave a Reply

