P is for precious….

 

“Life becomes precious and more special to us when we look for the little everyday miracles and get excited about the privileges of simply being human.”– Tim Hansel

The word precious is defined as greatly loved and treasured by someone…something of great value not to be wasted or treated carelessly. Today. I want to pay homage to my precious sister Lorrie on her birthday! She indeed is very precious to me as are my 5 other siblings. Lorrie is the baby of our family and was never without that same beautiful smile you see in the picture. I remember my parents coming home from the doctor and saying we would be having another brother or sister. I was 9 years old and so excited to hear the news. It was fun having a little sister after having 2 little brothers.

Through the years Lorrie has been there for me in times of great joy, deep sorrow and just THERE. She is there for my kids…when they need her…helping me through the journey as I became a single parent and needed her in my “village”  We have held each others hands, held each others hair back when we were sick due to the flu or too much beer, held our sides as we laugh so hard we couldn’t catch our breathe, held each other as we heard the news of Dad’s death as we flew home from Texas. She always knows just what to say to make me feel better, more calm or know I’m not alone in my own insanity and ALWAYS have a chuckle or a full on belly laugh to end things with.

Lorrie, you awe me with your strength,depth of character and courage. I’m blessed and  so grateful to have a sister that I can also call friend! Happy Birthday Lorrie…heres to continuing the journey and letting the good times roll baby! I love you to the moon and back. oxo

Leave a Reply

