Love, honor and respect….

By: openheartproduction

Apr 05 2011

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

Focal Length:20mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/50 sec
Camera:Canon EOS REBEL T2i

“Love is patient; love is kind and envies no one. Love is never boastful , nor conceited, nor rude; never selfish, not quick to take offense. There is nothing  love can not face; there is no limit to its faith, its hope, and endurance. In a word, there are three things that last forever: faith, hope and love; but the greatest of them all is love.”–1 Corinthians 13

Have you ever been in love, fallen out of love. heard the words, “I love you.” or “I don’t love you any more. I want out.”, felt unloveable, felt the warmth and flush of a budding love, felt so loved there wasn’t anything you couldn’t do, been so filled with love you might simply burst, had so much love for another person it just kept growing regardless of your differences, and then suddenly the love is gone…in an instant?

I have joyfully and sadly experienced them all and then some through my 56 years. I have learned that love isn’t suppose to “hurt” or disrespected in my first marriage and that lust isn’t love that lasts.

I learned that good and something beautiful can come out of a brief love affair or more like an encounter. Through all the guilt, shame and fear I felt for the choice to give my love to someone that wasn’t worthy of it….grew an incredible young man.

I have learned that having good role models for a loving marriage and solid parenting in my own parents is invaluable to me growing into the woman I am today. Thanks Ray and Vera. I still made mistakes but who doesn’t. They showed me the right way to live life.

I learned from Clyde Warner what it felt like to be loved and cherished just the way I was. He wouldn’t have changed a single thing about me…but his love made me a better person. He always had my back no matter what. We learned together that love does win out over the abyss of life. We were stronger together then apart. We balanced one another out. The beauty of opposites on the same track and mind set. We could agree to disagree without anger and resentment.It wasn’t a perfect marriage but love always won out. Although he has been gone for  almost 15 years He stills looms large in my life and still makes me smile.

I learned the journey of mother love with Kurt and Deena. The primal love that no one better mess with my babies or you will have the rath of Kathleen to deal with. I learned the power of tough love…as scary it was to move out in faith that it is the right thing and the only thing to do…and today look at an incredible young man that thanked me for the courage to love him that much. A daughter that I celebrate her intense loyalty and sense of self. My kids have been wise teacher for me. They have taught me patience, joy, the value of a great sense of humor, strength and much more.

I’m blessed beyond blessed for those that have taught me the way and continue to be there as I journey my path of love.


One comment on “Love, honor and respect….”

  1. Kathleen, I so remember Clyde, especially after preaching. He could communicate whether the sermon had been significant or not by his look after worship. I rejoice that he still brings a smile to your face. And inspiration to your art.


Leave a Reply

