The winner is…

By: openheartproduction

Mar 30 2011

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Focal Length:20mm
ISO:320
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon EOS REBEL T2i

“The key to success is often the ability to adapt.”


My neighborhood seems to be THE place to come for the food trucks. Yesterday when I turned the corner from Clinton Street on to Fulton I looked to see if there was a food truck and low and behold there was a van covered with noodles and the name..Southern Style MacNCheese. The first thing that came to mind was Paula Dean saying “hey yall!”  I’m not a huge fan of macaroni and cheese but my kids were. I will never forget the time our babysitter fixed the kids this lovely homemade MacNCheese from scratch that looked fantastic. When we returned home I asked the kids how their evening went and both said, “Fine but Reatha doesn’t make MacNCheese as good as you do Mom.” They preferred  the “Blue Box” kind.

 

I decided to return to the food truck after the line subsided and look to see what my choices were. There was “old school” with hot dogs and cheddar cheese and “new school” white cheddar with caramelized onions and sun dried tomatos. Hummm… so I decided to try one of each. I chuckled as I walked back home thinking how something so simple as comfort food has changed and what new spin has been put on it.

 

They both looked delicious. I opened them and dipped into the hot dog first…kinda bland but the dog gave it the “bark” it needed. Then came the onion/tomato…yum…had a ton more flavor…my favorite. They both were incredibly rich.  I guess I know what I’d be having for dinner too.

 

I’m no “foodie” by any stretch of the imagination but love to try new things….but I know what I like too. Sometimes life throws us  something different or a change we aren’t ready for and we think there is no way we can handle it. Those are the day we have to stop, drop and roll with the change. Adapt, be flexible as hard as it seems…I have found the more life you experience .. the more you stretch that change muscle the more flexible you become.

 

So be it Cheddar with hot dog or white cheddar with caramelized onion and sun dried tomatos..Old school try some New school today…New school go get some  Old school on. We all have much to learn from a new way to doing and thinking. Embrace it….Go look for your ” nuggets of deliciousness” in life.

Leave a Reply

